All the leaves are brown and the sky is grey-slash-gray

19 Jun

My dad could have totally beaten up your dad. Only he wouldn’t have. Because he was a gentleman and a scholar. And an athlete. And borderline amazing.

My dad could teach you the importance of perennials and then recite Lewis Carroll’s Jabberwocky.

Perfect man.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

He could explain why the Mamas and the Papas called their amazing harmony “Harvey” and all the ways that Beethoven did not suck. And then go play hockey. He also cleaned the bathrooms. While whistling Beethoven’s Fifth. He also never left me at a rest stop when I was an insolent teenager. Can you say the perfect man?

I did not choke on a tuna fish sandwich. Fact.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My mom deserves honorable mention in this post. Sure, she makes us eat her hairy chicken wings and frozen shrimp cocktail every Christmas Eve, while surrounded by seven hundred figurine carolers. And she doesn’t mind when I post things on Facebook like “Hey Mom, remember when you came to pick me up at the Howard Johnson when I was thirteen wearing only a Daisy Duck bathing suit and flip flops and I didn’t even kill myself?” She rocks.

Years of therapy for my adult children

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We miss you, Dad. Please tell John Lennon and Mama Cass that I love them. Mwah.

2 Responses to “All the leaves are brown and the sky is grey-slash-gray”

  1. Charlene June 20, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    Love this! I think dad would like our blog. He did teach us the power of the pen. 🙂

  2. Alison June 21, 2011 at 1:06 am #

    Your dad would love this! Keep it up- this blog is amazing…

Leave a Reply

